cuatro corridos

Cuatro Corridos is a chamber opera addressing one of the most critical human rights issues of our time: human trafficking. Based on true events, it tells the story of women trapped in a cycle of prostitution and slavery in and around the San Diego/Tijuana border region. Cuatro Corridos represents an unprecedented collaboration between internationally acclaimed Mexican and US-based creative artists.

Led by Grammy Award winning soprano Susan Narucki and noted Mexican author Jorge Volpi, the fully-staged production features original music by composers Hilda Paredes, Arlene Sierra, Lei Liang and Hebert Vázquez. Each composer gives voice to one of the four female characters by presenting one act in the hour-long drama.

Susan Narucki Artistic Director/Soprano
Jason Ponce – Technical Director, video design
Aleck Karis – Piano
Ayano Kataoka – Percussion
Pablo Gómez – Guitar
Jorge Volpi – Libretto

Visit for press releases, performance audio and video and other information.